Wilcox Elementary Principal named as finalist in $25,000 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award | Island Insurance

Press Releases

Wilcox Elementary Principal named as finalist in $25,000 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award

Principal Corey Nakamura of Wilcox Elementary in Lihue was named a finalist in the Island Insurance Foundation 2015 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Awards. One Hawaii public school principal will receive $25,000 (a $10,000 personal cash award and $15,000 towards a school project of his or her choice). The recipient of this year’s award will be announced at the Public Schools of Hawaii Foundation dinner on April 30, 2015 in Honolulu.

The award, which is named after Island Insurance founder Masayuki Tokioka is underwritten by the Island Insurance Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Island Insurance Companies. Thirteen public school principals from across the state are finalists for the award which recognizes outstanding school principals across the state and their efforts to provide high-quality learning opportunities for their students.

Corey Nakamura has been a principal for eight years. Currently in his first year as principal of Wilcox Elementary in Lihue, Nakamura was previously principal of Hanalei Elementary for seven years (where he was also nominated for this award in 2013).

While at Wilcox Elementary, Nakamura was able to actively engage parents and the community of Wilcox Elementary in order to build a shared responsibility for student success. By utilizing a strategy called the Plan, Do, Check, Act (PDCA), he allowed parents and the community to share ideas and effectively be heard. As a result, open lines of communication between the school and parents was established through: monthly newsletters and updates (on student health and safety, academics and activities), a new website (that includes current school updates and information, downloadable forms, lunch menu, school calendar, parent and technology resources and links to academic programs), and a call-out phone/text message system to keep parents informed.

The other 12 nominees are:

Bruce Anderson, Maui High School (Kahului, Maui)

Dean Cevallos, Keaau High School (Keeau, Hawaii)>p>

Frank Fernandes, Kaimuki Middle School (Honolulu, Oahu)

Shelley Ferrara, Mauka Lani Elementary School Kapolei, Oahu)

Steve Franz, King Kamehameha III Elementary School (Lahaina, Maui)

Debra Knight, Nanaikapono Elementary School (Waianae, Oahu)

Stacie Kunihisa, Kanoelani Elementary School (Waipahu, Oahu)

Deborah Nekomoto, Kapunahala Elementary School (Kaneohe, Oahu)

Dennis O’Brien, E.B. DeSilva Elementary School (Hilo, Hawaii)

James Sunday, Radford High School (Honolulu, Oahu)

Malaea Wetzel, Haleiwa Elementary School (Haleiwa, Oahu)

Sean Wong, Ala Wai Elementary School (Honolulu, Oahu)

The Island Insurance Foundation was established as the charitable arm of Island Insurance, Hawaii’s largest locally owned and managed property & casualty insurance carrier.

Island Insurance has been serving Hawaii’s families and businesses for 75 years and is the only Hawaii-based company to be recognized as one of the Top 50 property & casualty insurance companies in the nation by the Ward Group for seven consecutive years. Island Insurance holds a financial strength rating of “A” (Excellent) from A.M. Best Company. For more information, visit its website at: www.islandinsurance.com.

Back to Press Releases


In less than 10 minutes
you could save hundreds

Quote by Phone: 643-4000 Call for your FREE Quote Monday to Friday, 8am - 4:30pm.


Just as each home is different so is your situation. Let us help you find the right coverages.