Stiff Penalties for Drunk Drivers in Hawaii

Celebrations and Holidays with family and friends also mean a higher rate of alcohol impaired driving. Those who are planning to be on the road after holiday parties should have a designated driver or exercise responsible drinking. The legally intoxicated BAC level in the state of Hawaii is .08 percent. If you are under the age of 21, the legally intoxicated BAC level is .02 or higher. Commercial Vehicle Driver's BAC is .04 or higher.

First time offenders will have their driver's license suspended for 90 days to one year and those with a BAC of .15 or higher will have their driver's license suspended for a minimum of 6 months. They will also receive 48 hours to 5 days in jail and a fine of $150 to $1,000. You must also participate in a mandatory substance abuse education and counseling program for convicted drunk drivers.

Repeated offenses carry longer license suspension, jail times and community service periods in addition to larger monetary fines. A fourth DUI offense is a Class "C" felony carrying a possible 5 years in prison, probation for 5 years, a mandatory license revocation for no less than 1 year, 10 days in jail and a referral to substance abuse counseling.

If you are planning to drink at a party or gathering, please consider appointing a designated driver or make alternate plans to call a taxi.

*Source: U.S. DUI Laws.

Back to Articles & Tips

GET A FREE AUTO QUOTE

In less than 10 minutes
you could save hundreds

Quote by Phone: 643-4000 Call for your FREE Quote Monday to Friday, 8am - 5:30pm.

GET A HOMEOWNERS QUOTE

Just as each home is different so is your situation. To find the right coverages for your needs, homeowners insurance quotes are only available via phone.

Call 643-4000 M-F, 8 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.