Top 15 DOE Principals Honored by Island Insurance Foundation | Island Insurance

Top 15 DOE Principals Honored Saturday by Island Insurance Foundation

Nominees for Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award Lead Public Elementary and Secondary Schools Across State

The Island Insurance Foundation, leaders from the Hawai‘i State Department of Education and public officials recognized the state’s 15 top public school principals Saturday at ceremonies for the 17th Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award.

At Saturday’s event at the Island Insurance Center in Downtown Honolulu, each of the 15 nominees – who lead public elementary and secondary schools in all four counties – received a $1,000 cash award.

The 2023 Masayuki Tokioka Excellence in School Leadership Award recipient and two semi-finalists will be announced at the Public Schools of Hawai‘i Foundation annual dinner on Thursday, April 20.

The top principal will receive $25,000: a $10,000 personal cash award and $15,000 toward a school project of the principal’s choice. Two semi-finalists will each receive a $2,000 cash award.

The talented DOE principal-nominees for 2023 are:

  • Sharon Beck, Ka‘ū High & Pahala Elementary
  • U‘ilani Kaitoku, Hau‘ula Elementary
  • Suzie Lee, Mā‘ili Elementary
  • Nathan Maeda, Maunawili Elementary
  • Leila Maeda-Kobayashi, Kōloa Elementary
  • Amy Martinson, Highlands Intermediate
  • Komarey Moss, Red Hill Elementary
  • Jason Nakamoto, Leilehua High
  • Chad Okamoto, Pu‘u Kukui Elementary
  • Jacqueline Ornellas, Lincoln Elementary
  • Christopher Sanita, Hāna High and Elementary
  • Wesley Shinkawa, Kapolei High
  • Lisa Souza, Waiākea Intermediate
  • Kori Takaki, Kahakai Elementary
  • Jason Yoshimoto, Kamilo‘iki Elementary

Hawai‘i DOE Superintendent Keith Hayashi, Island Insurance Foundation Chairman Tyler Tokioka, Senator Carol Fukunaga, Honolulu City Councilmember Val Okimoto and a wide array of statewide Department of Education officials attended to celebrate the 15 top educational leaders.

The award honors the late Masayuki Tokioka, founder of Island Insurance Company, Ltd. and a proud graduate of Hawai‘i public schools. It was established in 2004 and is underwritten by the Island Insurance Foundation.

About Island Insurance Foundation

The Island Insurance Foundation is the charitable arm of Island Insurance, Hawai‘i’s only locally owned and managed property and casualty insurance carrier.

Since 2003, the Foundation has donated nearly $12 million to a wide array of non-profit organizations across Hawai‘i. It donated almost $1.2 million to 115 local non-profits in 2022 and is recognized as one of the top 25 most active private foundations in Hawai‘i.

Founded in downtown Honolulu, Island Insurance has been serving Hawai‘i’s families and businesses for over 80 years. Island Insurance is the only Hawai‘i-based company to be recognized as a Top 50 property & casualty insurer in the nation by the Ward Group for an unprecedented 15 consecutive years. It holds a financial strength rating of “A” (Excellent) from A.M. Best Company. For more information, visit